In-depth Transformation Model® 

Trusted Advisors logo blanc HD.png

The recommendations of Trusted Advisors' research have been consolidated through all the key successful practices in terms of transformation following more a rich qualitative and quantitative approach. The study and analysis of recommendations has led to the development of a new model/method for managing transformations.

There is an important message to remember: the solution starts first with self-criticism and the ability to take matters into one's own hands in order to break out of the shell of habits as an organization as a whole. It is indeed about creating a new intelligence, specific to each company, which will understand and assess customer expectations in a fluid and transparent partnership relationship. As part of this intelligence, the logic of the customer experience is to improve the ability of employees to feed back information, design products, improve services and act quickly when things go wrong. Ultimately, the strategy should reflect managerial boldness to meet the challenge of transformation. Above all, the impetus given by managers should be consistent with the attributes of the objectives to be achieved. Another important element of this strategy is the alignment and cohesion between individual and collective contributions and the overall transformational journey, with a sense of purpose anchored in employees through continuous engagement processes. 

 

There are 4 areas of support for transformations, as presented by our model.

Trusted Advisors Model : « In-depth Transformation Model »

Pillar areas for successful transformations (Simplified version)

logo-01-01.png

These areas consolidate our learnings about the keys to success, the mistakes to avoid and the very specific analyses we have carried out over the last 3 years, with more than 500 executives and senior managers interviewed in 10 countries. These areas are also the result of organizational diagnostics that lasted more than 4 weeks for each of the 20 major companies we solicited as part of our work. In a more synthetic way, these areas are presented as follows:

_FB - TrustedMagazine - Affiche Article-carré (3).png
logo-01-01.png

Zone 1:  Visionary and inspiring orientation with a strong managerial impulse​

  • The strength of vision is always important to the effort. This strength should also find an echo relayed by all layers of management (communication at the top management level should not be monopolized);

  • Beware of the rigidity of plans;

  • Beware of inconsistency between promises and practices.

logo-01-01.png

Zone 2:  Change management and the activation of the potential of the employees and the organization.

  • Change management ensures that the vision, speeches and managerial endeavours are implemented by mobilizing the actors and transforming them into an army of allies;

  • The activation of the organizational potential should be done through the assets, strengths and strong attributes of the corporate culture;

  • Beware of the disengagement of employees;

  • Beware of dependence on technological dimensions.

_FB - TrustedMagazine - Affiche Article-carré (4).png
logo-01-01.png

Zone 3:  Adopting agile approaches and clear governance

  • Good governance should be verified on a daily basis;

  • Responsibilities should reflect patterns that are meaningful to employees;

  • Agile approaches redesign relationships and interactions within the framework of a fluidity of the value chain towards the customer;

  • Beware of a lack of trust; Beware of inadequate managerial posture; Beware of the lack of clarity of Ownership.

_FB - TrustedMagazine - Affiche Article-carré (5).png
logo-01-01.png

Zone 4:  Anchoring of the customer-oriented mindset

  • Acculturation of employees and managers around all the previous zones (1, 2, 3). This acculturation is important and should be reflected in the tools and processes while aligning them with clients expectations. 

  • Regularity and discipline in anchoring a “customer oriented” state of mind should be an ongoing investment;

  • Beware of old ways of understanding and monitoring client expectations;

  • Beware of inconsistent communication around service attributes and their real potential.

_FB - TrustedMagazine - Affiche Article-carré (6).png

The features of Trusted Advisors model  for successful transformations

back.png
logo-01-01.png

Regardless of the organizational structure, there is a real need to build the transformation on what we call each company's unique DNA in terms of what it knows how to do, what it wants to consolidate, and what it does not. Doing as others do is usually a guarantee to miss these three pillars and focus the attention of the company's resources solely on Time-to-Market at all costs. As unpredictable as it may seem, it is sometimes just as important to know or dare to say no to digitalisation at all costs! Indeed, this approach makes sense if the organization is not ready or if prerequisites have to be built before going any further in the transformation project: alignment of vision and strategy, coherence between strategy and structures, articulation of structures on relevant project portfolios, and the commitment of employees around projects and the global vision. 

Another very important observation: any digital transformation effort must include the "customer focus" box, which should certainly not be a slogan, but above all a constant practice. Reviewing the organisation starting from the customer through design thinking is a necessity that will make the organisational and collaborative model refocus on the customer. The methodological tool is, in this case, only one piece of the puzzle to be rebuilt, the other pieces being change management for the appropriation of new operating methods and information flows, the adaptation of managerial practices and the empowerment of employees for better decision-making and self-management. In this case, flattening organizations also means that information and steering systems must be rethought. It is no longer a question of considering managers as actors in the hierarchical dissemination of information, but rather as facilitators. The data and information resulting from this hierarchy therefore become accessible to all employees, in full transparency, to promote individual decision-making and steering. This conception supposes the existence of a real consideration of an architecture that federates data, the ability of managers to reinforce the role of employees as producers and users of data, and finally, an organizational alignment that allows digital transformation to find fertile ground for its development.

At the top of their companies, executives are swamped with information, indicators, and dashboards. They find themselves, whether they like it or not, in the grip of fashion effects and in a permanent race towards the endless Time-to-Market. In this race, the company and its leaders find themselves unable to assert themselves as a structure with its own distinctive identity. The danger, therefore, would be to continue trying to decipher trends, when they are so volatile and it is useless to explore them through usual methods, such as commissioning a study, establishing a diagnosis or identifying a plan of action. This raises the question as to why this would be a dangerous approach. The answer is quite simple: these tools, which are certainly very good solutions, are unfortunately not sufficient when it comes to situations involving complex problems and environments.

 

Taking all these specificities into account, the Trusted Advisors transformation model has been enriched by gateways that take up practices that allow for evolution between the previously defined boxes and zones. These gateways can be intermediate steps that will consolidate the process as a whole and create homogeneity and consistency between the four zones.

Trusted Advisors « In-depth Transformation Model »

Areas for successful transformations

(Including four additional gateways)

test3.png
logo-01-01.png

Transformation gateways

In detail, these gateways are as follows:

Image1.png
logo-01-01.png

Starting at area 1, and before rushing to area 2, we have introduced a first footbridge that will:

  • Ensure more transformational DNA assertions reflecting the organization's strengths;

  • Helpgto avoid rushing into the effects of competition announcements;

  • Compensate for lack of focus and concentration;

  • Anchor the principle we borrowed from Herbert Simon, Nobel Prize winner in economics: "What information consumes is rather obvious: it consumes the attention of its recipients. Hence a wealth of information creates a poverty of attention, and a need to allocate that attention efficiently among the overabundance of information sources that might consume it”.

Image2.png
logo-01-01.png

Starting at area 2, and before going to area 3, the new Trusted Advisors method gateway will:

  • Ensure more internal synergy between functions, entities and operational teams;

  • Consolidate the synergy between teams. In one of our surveys, 75% of respondents believe that there is a need for cross-functional teams and not just cross-functional committees;

  • Reflect the need for team work and transversality in all levels of the organisations and not only at the level of top management: “There is a need for soldiers to work together and not just generals to work together”.

Image3.png
logo-01-01.png

Starting at area 3, and before proceeding to area 4, the new gateway recommend:

  • Designing and implementing anti-silo processes;

  • Maintaining a clear governance of technologies, process, and contributions of team-members and teams

  • Adopting agile methods and approaches with an end-to-end orientation. It should be noted in this respect that the failure rate of projects managed in agile mode is lower than that of projects managed in so-called traditional mode:

    • 35% vs. 16% for large projects;

    • 20% vs. 10% for medium-sized projects;

    • 10% vs. 4% for small projects (Source: Chaos Report).

Image4.png
logo-01-01.png

From area 4, the gateway will act as a link to area 1 by continuing to fuel the strong managerial impulse and the company's DNA. This bridge will allow:

  • Designing and maintaining more adhesion and motivation around creativity;

  • Propelling the need for ideas to become reality and not just ideas for proposals;

  • Relying on external innovation ecosystems while avoiding the promotional effect (Fintech challenges/Startup challenges/Hackathons) without consolidation of achievements. Warning: 44% of startups find that the objectives of large groups are little or not at all clear! (Source: Bluenove and Village by CA).

Each of the items depicted in the new model is relevant and remains an area to be explored and properly deployed. Our teams are working with a number of companies, based on the preliminary results of the diagnostics we have been carrying out.

Our experts remain at your disposal to design and deploy the practices for successful transformational actions/programmes through the pillars and bridges described above. Our approach will allow you to capitalise on the know-how of our consultants based on our benchmarks from 125 clients in 25 countries. 

 

Contact our consultancy team at:  contact@trustedadvisors-group.com

test-01.png

In-depth Transformation Model®

Trusted Advisors logo blanc HD.png

Les recommandations des recherches de Trusted Advisors ont été consolidées à travers, notamment, les pratiques impactantes en matière de transformation. L’étude et l’analyse de ces pratiques par le biais de démarches quantitatives et qualitativesont permis l’élaboration d’un nouveau modèle pour réussir les transformations, baptisé « In-depth Transformation Model ».

A la lecture de notre model/méthode, il y a un message important à retenir : la solution démarre d’abord par l’autocritique et la capacité à prendre les choses en main pour sortir de la coquille des habitudes en tant qu’organisation en sa globalité. Il s’agit en effet de créer une nouvelle intelligence, propre à chaque entreprise, qui va comprendre et évaluer les attentes des clients dans une relation de partenariat fluide et transparent. Dans le cadre de cette intelligence, la logique de l’expérience client est d’améliorer la capacité des collaborateurs à remonter l’information, à concevoir des produits, à améliorer les services et à agir rapidement quand les choses vont mal. La stratégie devrait, au final, refléter une audace managériale pour relever le défi de la transformation. L’impulsion donnée par les managers devrait surtout être cohérente avec les attributs des objectifs à atteindre. Autre élément important de cette stratégie, l’alignement et la cohésion entre les contributions individuelles et collectives et l’itinéraire transformationnel dans sa globalité, avec un sens ancré auprès des collaborateurs à travers des processus d’engagement en continu. 

 

Les zones d’appui des transformations, telles que présentées par notre modèle, sont au nombre de 4.

« In-depth Transformation Model »  by Trusted Advisors

(Version simplifiée)

fr-01.png
logo-01-01.png

Ces zones consolident nos apprentissages des clés de réussite, des erreurs à éviter et des analyses très pointues que nous avons réalisées durant les 3 dernières années, avec plus de 500 cadres et cadres-dirigeants interviewées dans 10 pays. Ces analyses sont aussi le fruit des diagnostics organisationnels qui ont duré plus de 4 semaines pour chacune des 20 entreprises d’envergure que nous avons sollicitées dans le cadre de nos travaux. De manière plus synthétique, ces zones se présentent comme suit :

_FB - TrustedMagazine - Affiche Article-carré (3).png
logo-01-01.png

Orientation visionnaire et inspirante avec une impulsion managériale forte

  • La force de la vision est toujours importante pour les efforts. Cette force devrait aussi trouver un écho relayé par toutes les couches managériales (il ne faut surtout pas monopoliser la communication au niveau du top management);

  • Attention à la rigidité des plans;

  • Attention à la non-cohérence entre promesses et pratiques.

logo-01-01.png

La conduite du changement et l’activation du potentiel des collaborateurs et de l’organisation

  • La conduite du changement permet de s’assurer que la vision, les discours et les animations managériales sont implémentés en mobilisant les acteurs et en les transformant en une armée d’alliés ;

  • L’activation du potentiel organisationnel devrait se faire à travers les acquis, les forces et les attributs forts de la culture de l’entreprise;

  • Attention au désengagement des collaborateurs;

  • Attention à la dépendance aux dimensions technologiques.

_FB - TrustedMagazine - Affiche Article-carré (4).png
logo-01-01.png

Adoption des approches agiles et d’une gouvernance claire

  • La bonne gouvernance devrait se vérifier au quotidien;

  • Les responsabilités devront refléter des schémas porteurs de sens aux collaborateurs;

  • Les approches agiles reconçoivent les rapports et les interactions dans le cadre d’une fluidification de la chaîne de valeur vers le client;

  • Attention au manque de confiance;

  • Attention à la posture managériale inadéquate;

  • Attention au manque de clarté de l’Ownership.

_FB - TrustedMagazine - Affiche Article-carré (5).png
logo-01-01.png

Ancrage du mindset orienté client

  • L’acculturation des collaborateurs et des managers autour de l’ensemble des appuis utilisés avec une orientation client. Cette acculturation est importante et devrait se traduire au niveau des outils et des processus;

  • La régularité et la discipline dans l’ancrage de l’état d’esprit « orienté client » devraient être un investissement en continu;

  • Attention aux anciennes méthodes pour comprendre et suivre les attentes des clients;

  • Attention à l’incohérence de la communication autour des attributs des services et leur potentiel réel.

_FB - TrustedMagazine - Affiche Article-carré (6).png

Les particularités du modèle Trusted Advisors pour réussir les transformations

back.png
logo-01-01.png

Quelle que soit la structure organisationnelle, il y a un vrai besoin de bâtir la transformation sur ce que nous appelons un ADN propre à chaque entreprise relatif à ce qu’elle sait faire, et ce qu’elle souhaite consolider, et à ce qu’elle ne maîtrise pas. Faire comme les autres est généralement une garantie de passer à côté de ces trois piliers et de concentrer l’attention des ressources de l’entreprise uniquement sur le Time-to-Market à tout prix. Aussi imprévisible que cela puisse apparaître, il est parfois aussi important de savoir ou d’oser dire non à la digitalisation à tout prix ! Cette approche a, en effet, tout son sens si l’organisation n’est pas prête ou que des préalables sont à construire avant d’aller plus loin dans le projet de transformation : alignement vision et stratégie, cohérence entre la stratégie et les structures, articulation des structures sur les portefeuilles des projets pertinents, et l’engagement des collaborateurs autour des projets et de la vision globale. 

 

Autre constat de haute importance : tout effort de transformation digitale passe par la case «orientation client» qui ne devrait certainement pas être un slogan, mais surtout une pratique constante. Revoir l’organisation en partant du client à travers des démarches de design thinking est une nécessité qui fera que le modèle organisationnel et collaboratif se recentre sur le client. L’outillage méthodologique n’est, dans ce cas-là, qu’un morceau du puzzle à reconstruire, les autres pièces étant la conduite de changement pour l’appropriation des nouveaux modes opératoires et des flux d’information, l’adaptation des pratiques managériales et de la capacitation des collaborateurs pour une meilleure prise de décision et d’autopilotage. Dans ce cas, aplatir les organisations veut aussi dire que l’information et les dispositifs de pilotage doivent être repensés. Il n’est plus question de considérer les managers en tant qu’acteur de la diffusion hiérarchique de l’information, mais plus en tant que facilitateurs. Les données et les informations qui découlent de cette hiérarchie deviennent donc accessibles à l’ensemble des collaborateurs, en toute transparence, pour promouvoir la prise de décision et le pilotage individuel. Cette conception suppose l’existence d’une réelle considération d’une architecture fédérant les données, d’une capacité des managers à renforcer le rôle des collaborateurs en tant que producteurs et utilisateurs de ces dernières, et enfin, d’un alignement organisationnel permettant à la transformation digitale de trouver un terrain fertile pour son développement.

Au sommet de leurs entreprises, les dirigeants se trouvent engloutis d'informations, d’indicateurs, et de tableaux de bord. Ils se trouvent, bon grès ou mal grès, sous l’emprise des effets de mode et dans une course permanente vers le Time-to-Market sans fin. Dans cette course, l’entreprise et ses dirigeants se retrouvent dans l’incapacité de s’affirmer en tant que structure ayant sa propre identité distinctive. Le danger serait, donc, de continuer dans le sens d’essayer de déchiffrer les tendances, alors qu’elles sont tellement volatiles et qu’il est inutile de les explorer par des méthodes habituelles, notamment, en mandatant une étude, en établissant un diagnostic ou, encore, en identifiant un plan d’action. Se pose ainsi la question de savoir pourquoi cela serait une approche dangereuse. La réponse est toute simple : ces outils, qui sont certes de très bonnes solutions, ne suffisent malheureusement pas quand il s’agit de situations qui présentent des problèmes et des environnements complexes.

 

Tenant compte de toutes ces spécificités, le modèle de transformation Trusted Advisors a été enrichi par des passerelles qui reprennent des pratiques qui permettent d’évoluer entre les cases et zones définies précédemment. Ces passerelles peuvent être des étapes intermédiaires qui vont consolider le processus dans sa globalité et créer une homogénéité et une cohérence entre les quatre zones.

« In-depth Transformation Model » by Trusted Advisors

(Version avec quatre zones complémentaires)

test2_fr.png
logo-01-01.png

Les passerelles transformationnelles

Dans le détail, ces passerelles se présentent comme suit:

Image1.png
logo-01-01.png

À partir de la zone d’appui 1, et avant de se précipiter vers la zone d’appui 2, nous avons introduit une première passerelle qui va:

  • Assurer plus d’affirmations de l’ADN transformationnel reflétant les points forts de l’organisation;

  • Aider à ne pas réagir précipitamment aux effets d’annonce de la concurrence;

  • Pallier la défaillance d’attention et de concentration;

  • Ancrer le principe que nous avons emprunté à Herbert Simon, prix Nobel d'économie : « l’abondance de l’information consomme l'attention de ceux qui la reçoivent. Par conséquent, la richesse de l'information crée une pauvreté de l'attention ».

Image2.png
logo-01-01.png

À partir de la zone d’appui 2, et avant de se précipiter vers la zone d’appui 3, le nouveau pont de la méthode Trusted Advisors va permettre:

  • D’assurer plus de synergie interne entre les fonctions, les entités et les équipes opérationnelles;

  • De consolider la synergie entre les équipes. Dans un de nos sondages, 75% des répondants estiment qu’il y a un besoin d'équipes transverses et non uniquement de comités transverses;

  • De rendre compte de la nécessité de faire travailler les soldats ensemble et non uniquement faire travailler les généraux ensemble.

Image3.png
logo-01-01.png

À partir de la zone d’appui 3, et avant de se précipiter vers la zone d’appui 4, la nouvelle passerelle permettra:

  • D’assurer la conception et la maintenance des processus anti-silos;

  • De promouvoir et d’opter pour une gouvernance claire des technologies, des systèmes et des rôles des contributeurs;

  • D’adopter les méthodes et les approches agiles avec une orientation end-to-end. À noter à cet égard que le taux d’échec des projets, gérés en mode agile, est plus faible que celui des projets gérés en mode dit classique:

    • 35% vs 16% pour les projets importants;

    • 20% vs 10% pour les projets de taille moyenne;

    • 10% vs 4% pour les projets de petite taille (Source : Chaos Report).

Image4.png
logo-01-01.png

À partir de la zone d’appui 4, la passerelle jouera le rôle de lien avec la zone 1 en continuant à alimenter l’impulsion managériale forte et l’ADN de l’entreprise. Ce pont permettra de:

  • Concevoir et maintenir plus d’adhésion et de motivation autour de la créativité;

  • Propulser un besoin de concrétisation des idées et pas seulement des propositions d’idées;

  • S’appuyer sur les écosystèmes externes d’innovation en évitant l’effet promotionnel (Fintech, challenges/Startup, challenges /Hackathons) sans suivi ni consolidation des acquis. Attention : 44% des startups trouvent que les objectifs des grands groupes sont peu ou pas du tout clairs ! (Source : Bluenove et Village by CA).

Chacun des items exposés dans le nouveau modèle est pertinent et reste un chantier à explorer et à déployer convenablement. Nos équipes travaillent avec plusieurs entreprises dans ce sens en fonction des résultats préliminaires des diagnostics que nous effectuons.

Nos experts restent à votre disposition pour concevoir et déployer les leviers pour réussir les actions et les programmes de transformations à travers les piliers et les passerelles décrites ci-dessus. Nos approches vous permettront de capitaliser sur les pratiques de nos consultants à partir de nos benchmarks et de nos retours d’expériences auprès de 125 clients dans 25 pays. 

 

Contactez nos conseillers corporate:  contact@trustedadvisors-group.com